N00B .223 question

Chipperman

Hey, reloading noob here. I’ve been reloading for a whole month now. :p

Anyway, I’ve been reloading .223 using Hornady 55gr FMJ and Reloader 7 powder. I chose that powder just based on what the shop had in stock. I’ve been slowly increasing the load to get reliability in ARs. I’m up to 21.1 grains now and the load runs well in all of my ARs except an 18” .223 Wylde. It will eject but is just shy of feeding. It will do fine when a suppressor is attached. The rifle runs commercial ammo reliably, so I know its not the rifle. All the other ARs are 16” or less.

The issue here is that at 21.1 grains I’m getting close to the 21.4 max load in the manual. The only pressure sign I’m seeing so far is some flattened primers (not all of them). I do not have a chrono yet, so I can’t tell the velocity, unfortunately.

My question is whether I should increase the load a little more or bail on RL7 in favor of another powder. Hopefully the shop will have more selection the next time I go in. I hear good things about Varget in .223. Eventually I’ll have to mail order some, but the shop has good prices on what is there.

Thanks

Shadow9mm

When I work up a load I test up to max right away. for 223 i go up in 0.3g increments starting at the starting loads and look for pressure signs. I don't go above max, I just want to make sure I don't have pressure signs. Look for ejector swipe marks on the rim and cratered primers. flattened are somewhat normal cci dont seem to flatten as easily as winchester or remington for me so it is not a guarantee, just a general guideline.

Once you hit max safely you can work back down to find an accurate load.