My new training rifle

Pep in CA

OK, so I'm a newbie. I bought my first ever guns last November, 2015. Included in my purchase was a Marlin 60 SN. I have to say this gun has served me well for the price I paid for it. It was more or less a throw in with the other guns I purchased at the time, but it has proved itself as an excellent shooter and training gun.

Lately though, I've been looking for a better training gun ... for me and for my friends who haven't fired a gun before. My eyes have wandered here:

http://cz-usa.com/product/cz-455-training-rifle-22-lr-beech-5-rd-mag/

I have to say, even though the CZ training rifle is more than twice the price I paid for my Marlin 60, it has many advantages, and I'm thinking of trading my Marlin for this model. Most notably, of course, is the fact that the CZ is a bolt action while the Marlin 60 is a semi-automatic, but for rifle accuracy, bolt action seems the way to go.

Also, I have realized that I don't like the stock Marlin iron sights. The sights on the CZ, on the other hand, are highly praised.

Your thoughts and opinions, please.

Pep in CA

Blindstich, to answer your question, no. I have never seen the iron sights of the CZ 455 training rifle first hand, but I do know this: the stock iron sights on my Marlin 60 are not very good.

Don't get me wrong. For the money I paid for my Marlin they are just fine. No complaints.

However, when I've tried to introduce friends or relatives to shooting, they have universally told me it is too difficult ... and I blame the stock Marlin sights for that. They are very primitive and have a lot of glare. I know this myself.

PS -- have you tried to change the iron sights on a Marlin 60, first hand? If so, I hope you can elaborate.

Pep in CA

Emcon5, thanks for the link, but I think I'm going the Pathfinder45 way. That is, I think I'll do the trade.