My new SR1911

NVBigEd

I have owned a 1911 for a week now... All I can say is, "What took me so long!" I'm pretty new to handguns, as in I didn't own any until September, but I own a Glock gen4 G17 and a Sig P226 in 9mm. I've often read people compare triggers across platforms i.e "it's nice for a Glock, but it's no 1911"... That sort of thing...

Well, now that I've actually fired a couple of hundred rounds through my SR1911, I'm beginning to understand! I've fired 3 brands of 230 gr FMJ ball ammo and I have had no issues of any kind. The trigger pull is light, smooth and the break is crisp enough that it surprised my wife so much she nearly dropped it!

Please excuse the poor quality pics... cell phone camera only, but you get the idea.

In summary, for $650 the Ruger is a terrific value IMHO, and I am enjoying learning and appreciating the 1911 platform!

Dobe

Congratulations on a nice buy. I have recently obtaioned a Ruger 1911 also, nice handgun. And yes, there is nothing quiet like a 1911.

Leejack

Congrats on your SR1911!

I don't own one but have owned and shot Rugers for a looong time.

It won't let you down!

bitttorrrent

Sweet.

I am new too, just bought my first 9mm a month ago.

I have similar taste - almost bought the gen4 glock 17, but got a px4 9mm instead.

Eying both the sr1911 and the sig p226 next.

Which one would you get first now that you have both?

Very fine looking group of pistols so far.

Ichiban

Congratulations on your first 1911. They truly are addictive like no other gun.

So far everything I have heard about the SR1911 has been very positive.

pgdion

Congrats! Yep, I'm jealous too. I'm expecting the SR1911 to be my 1st 45 purchase (the drawer is full of 9's and .22's right now). Spent my spring gun budget already though so now I'll have to wait until fall. *sigh* (Darn kids wanting to go to college :rolleyes:). that SR1911 sure is one good looking gun!

Singlesix1954