My letter to my CO Reps about the Aurora Tragedy...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rangefinder

Here is what I wrote this morning and have sent to all my representatives here in Colorado. For those who would like to, please feel free to copy this, personalize it as you see fit, and send it to our Representatives (and yours as well!!!) under your own name.

Dear _________ ,
As a Colorado resident, I am deeply troubled by the recent tragedy in Aurora, as are many others. There are no words to describe the event, my sorrow, my empathy and heart-felt condolences to the victims and their families, or my absolute hatred and anger toward James Eagen Holmes. I will refrain from describing what I would like to see done with him, as it would in fact be both barbaric and unconstitutional—neither of which I can condone. Civilly, my hope is for swift trial followed by the Death Penalty, and for that to be carried out quickly. To incarcerate this lunatic for years or decades would not only be a cost burden that should not be placed upon the people of Colorado, it would also be an incredible injustice to those who have been affected by his heinous actions to allow him long life within a prison system after taking away the lives of so many and tragically ripping apart the lives of so many more. To that end, I sincerely hope our Justice System is capable of doing its job effectively, efficiently, and in a timely manner.