My journey to a mile.

6MT

I thought I'd document my journey to a mile with my new C-14 Timberwolf. First off, a big thank you to Steve from EM Precision for really encouraging me 3 years ago to get seriously into long range precision shooting. If it wasn't for him and his skills as a builder and teacher, I'm not sure I would have been able to do this.

First....the rifle. This is my second rifle from Ross at PGWdti. (My other is a Coyote in .308win.)

It is a C-14 Timberwolf in .338LM. The scope is a NF NXS 8-32x56 over a Spuhr +20moa mount. The bipod is by LRA, their F-class. (Although the lower picture shows a light tactical model to accomadate an LRF by SilencerCo.) And that brake is an EM Precision ShockWave installed by Steve.

DSCN9971.jpg

DSCN9891.jpg

So load development went well with me finding a sweet spot with 93.6 grains of Retumbo. The brass is Lapua, the primers Federal 215's, and the bullets are 300 grain SMK's. Then came the seating depth tests with three depths (.005", .010", .015"), with the .010" jump being the best. Easy. (BTW, all load/seating tests were done at 201 yards.)

So, onward and outward to a mile. Well there were a few problems along the way. When I decided to try the mile, I had just been out to a friend's place plinking to 1050 yards. The rifle (and me) were more than capable with me getting bored quickly and not wasting much ammo. This made me want to try the mile the very next day.

The first problem was with iSnipe. Out beyond 1000m, it appeared to be "off". It got worse the further out I went. Frustrated, I asked for help from a couple who enthusiastically helped me with spotting. (Thank you Rob and Barb!) I was on steel at 1500m in four shots. Again, the math did not jive with iSnipe. At that distance, I was over 4moa high. Oh well, now on to the mile.

After three shots to make adjustments, with help from Barb, I managed my first hit at a mile! I gave Mr Smiley Face a new nose...

image.jpg