my first AR-15, what should I get

headbangerJD

In a few months I will be buying a semi-auto rifle (AR) for range and recreational use. I own a few handguns, but this will be my first rifle. I would like some suggestions on a good semi-auto in 223 caliber for about $1,000.

Thanks in advance

Last edited:

Palmetto-Pride

The Smith & Wesson M&P 15 series is pretty good. When it comes to AR15s you are going to get a whole smorgasbord board of opinions, you just have to weed through the hype and bull****.

azredhawk44

I'd say to keep it basic, and keep it on a standard level to conform to any shooting clinics you might participate in once you join the fraternity of the autoloading rifle.

Something with a sturdy fixed buttstock, carry handle affixed to the upper receiver, iron sights and 20" barrel.

pilpens

I am new to ARs, also.
I just assembled one very recently - BCM SS midlength complete upper and Spike's Tactical complete lower.
With options I picked, I am almost at $1200.
Fit is very good. Rifle shoots well.
I can see a BCM/Spikes combo for $1000 with different options.
Also check out CDNN, I just got their catalog -- S&W + 5 Pmags for < 1000.
Check out PKfirearms for Sabre Defense uppers.
Sabre Defense Upper and Spikes lower maybe good combo, also.
Again, I am new to ARs. So mine is just from my very limited experience and some recent searching on the internet.

BCM 16" midlength is a very nice "do-everything" AR that will do a little bit of everything well.

Definitely get a flattop upper... you can always add a carry handle to a flattop; but you have to buy a new upper to get rid of a fixed carry handle.

greyson97

Something that allows you to swap out the stock for either a collapsible or fixed stock. removable carry handle with a picatinny rail underneath. fixed carry handles are dumb. removable front post is also a bonus. quad rail hand guard. 16" barrel