Muzzleloader Safety

Pahoo

Folks, understand that I am a hunter safety instructor and teach Muzzleloading during our field work. The age range is 12 to adults and some are in their 60's. They are all getting the same information. I have bucked heads with other instructors and the sate, on the issues listed below. I certainly would appreciate your responses. I'm asking what you would teach.
  • In the loading process; "Bouncing or Pounding" the ramrod on a patched round ball.
  • After firing; Blow down the muzzle and observe the smoke venting out the nipple.
  • How would you present and address the problem of a "HangFire"??

CraigC

In my research, which included Sam Fadala's fine work for the Lyman manual, bouncing or pounding is not the proper method to seat the ball. It should be one smooth, fluid action. Both for safety and to prevent deforming the ball.

It is also recommended that you do not remove the fired cap until you're reloaded and are ready to recap. That if the barrel remains sealed at the breech end, it will be less likely to supply enough oxygen to any remaining embers that could possibly set off the new powder charge. Blowing down the bore would have the opposite effect and I don't know what they're trying to accomplish. Maybe the watched Quigley too many times and think that black powder cartridge etiquette applies directly to muzzleloader shooting.

Address a hangfire by waiting for a short period to see if it might still ignite, with it still pointed downrange, then recap and try again. If after several tries it still does not ignite, remove the nippple and drop some FFFg or FFFFg into the nipple port. Only then would you get out your screw to remove the ball and powder charge.

The only reason I "bounce" the ramrod on a loaded ball is to ensure that yes, I have everything nice and tightly compacted from the initial load.

If you get a good solid bounce, you have good loading compression.