Mosin Nagant: Quick review and first impressions

osallent

After reading countless threads on the Mosin Nagant, I decided I had to have one. I have never owned a bolt action rifle (only semiautomatics) and have never fired a rifle that's over seven decades old. I was not sure what to expect.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS

It's big...the rifle stretches on for miles and miles, and with the bayonet on, it feels like I am a medieval soldier holding a pike. The rifle's finish is rough at best, and it bears the battle scars of war. I like that...it adds character. :D

9c884aae.jpg

d7816f5e.jpg

THE SHOOTING EXPERIENCE

The trigger pull is nothing to write home about, and the bolt action is somewhat hard to operate smoothly...at least for a soft capitalist pig like me. After 80 rounds at the range under the hot Florida sun, I felt like I had done a full workout session with Richard Simmons. My shoulders and hands ached, and my feeble body felt like I was a Russian peasant after a full day of work at a collective farm. A few more trips to the range, and my arms should look like Hulk Hogan's. My girlfriend should like that. :cool:

THE BULLET

Shooting the 7.62x54R is as much fun as anyone could have with their clothes on. It kicks like an angry Soviet mule...but who cares when you are having so much fun? Here is a comparison to the 7.62x39

6a1235c8.jpg

CONCLUSION

If you've never shot an old historic firearm like this, you will certainly appreciate the advances in firearm technology that have been made in the past 50 years once you use the Mosin Nagant. This is not a rifle for the faint of heart. However, I rather liked the experience, and the cardiovascular exercise that I got trying to operate it was certainly a nice plus. It sure beats going to the gym. I love my angry Soviet mule, and would highly recommend it to fellow history buffs and those looking to jump into the world of curio/relics.

micksis86