Moa question

codyb1991

I'm kinda new to shooting so bare with me. I shot a 4 shot group at 100 yards today and the group is 1" wide and 1.5" tall. Is it a 1" group or a 1.5" or a 1.25" group?

Cowboy_mo

My understanding of MOA

I may be all wet and someone will no doubt correct me if necessary but, based on your measurements, this would be considered a 1.5 in. group. An MOA group is 1 in. between the farthest 2 bullet holes.

I don't know what you are shooting for but a 1.5 inch group (at 100 yds) will definitely make a dead deer:)

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus
The group size is measured as the largest dimension minus the caliber (diameter) of the bullet.

A 1.5" wide group (outer edge to outer edge) fired with a .308 would be correctly reported as 1.192 inches.
The same group fired with a .223 would be reported as 1.277 inches.

The idea is that you're reporting the largest distance from the center of the holes of the two farthest apart shots. Since centers are hard to measure, outer edge to outer edge minus one bullet width gives you the same number.

codyb1991

Remington 700 ADL in .270 Win. I'm happy with the results, although I've only shot a total of 60 rounds through it. I'm thinking that my barrel isn't "broken in" yet. And I need to replace the crappy Remington scope mounted at the factory.

codyb1991

Peetzakilla, so its the outer edge of the two most distant bullet holes? And is measured horizontally and not vertically? Then I have 1"group?

emcon5

No, it is the longest distance period.

It should truly be measured center to center, but the easiest way to do it is measure outside to outside, then subtract the diameter of the bullet.

It it was a perfect 1.5 inches, outside edge of the farthest 2 holes, minus .277 (the diameter of a .270 Winchester bullet) you get 1.233.

JohnKSa

Administrator