Minor issue loading .223 Rem (AR)

Nick_C_S

Hi, I've been loading for handgun for over three decades; but just started loading for rifle (AR15 .223 only) a couple months ago.

A minor issue I've been running into is when I seat the bullet, sometimes - maybe one in 15 or so - the shoulder will slightly buckle (hardly noticeable), making the round where it won't quite drop freely into my chamber checker.

I've been pulling these rounds and haven't fired any. But I have two questions:

1), How critical is it? Can I fire these? We're talking the round sitting maybe 10 - 20 thousandths above the chamber checker deck.

2), How/what can I do to alleviate the problem in the first place?

I'm not sure what other info I need to add . . . I'm using an RCBS die. The die body is set to where the crimp is just starting to impinge (not enough to actually crimp). I trim to 1.755" max. VLD chamfer. Deburred. Full-length sizing w/ RCBS small base. Happens with all bullets I've used (Sierra 55gn flat-base & BT; Sierra 65gn BT; Winchester 64gn flat-base).

Any insight would be helpful.
Thanks,
Nick.

IMtheNRA

In my experience, the only time I collapsed .223 cases was when the seating die was too low and it was crimping the case. Since there is no need to crimp .223, you may as well raise the die a little more.

Your damged rounds may not allow the bolt to lock, and they may be difficult to extract from the chamber if you decide to eject a chambered live round.

FrankenMauser

Sounds like crimping while seating, possibly including some case length and/or neck wall thickness variation.

Back the die body off a quarter turn (~0.018"), readjust for seating depth, and give it another shot.

I never crimp rifle rounds while seating bullets, and rarely have the crimp ring anywhere close to the case mouth during the process. If I want to crimp, I do so as an additional step - even if it's just a little kiss to make sure things are consistent.