Maybe not reloading, but ammo related.

P5 Guy

We all know that the M1 Rifle in .30'06 needs a particular speed powder to prevent damaging the operating rod.
I am wondering about M1 Rifles in 7.62x51/.308 Winchester. Can too slow a powder cause problems?

Rico567

I have no direct knowledge of this situation, although I shoot a Garand in .30-06 and am familiar with the powder restrictions. Similar cartridges and operating pressures; I suspect the same caveats about powders (aka a narrow acceptable range of burning rates) applies here as well.

44 AMP

Staff
There are replacement gas plugs that allow the M1 to operate without damage over a wider range of port pressure curves. The issue is only with guns in GI trim, and ammo outside their intended pressure curve.

Bart B.

When the US Navy and Army ordered a bunch of 7.62 NATO chamberd Garand barrels from Springfield Armory in MA, they all came with the following gas port sizes (.30-06 one's listed for comparison):

30-06 Garand - .0790" +.0015"

Original 7.62 Garand - .0790" +.0015" (same as .30-06)

The shops rebuilding 30 caliber M1's to 7.62 NATO quickly learned the port pressure of a 7.62 NATO round was lower than that of the .30-06. So they experimented with larger sizes. Here's what they ended up using:

7.62 Army M1 - .1050" +.0015"

7.62 Navy M1 - .1065" +.0015"

I've watched the 'smiths at the USN unit drill out gas ports in the 7.62 chambered SA barrels they were fitting to Garands.

Yes, one must not use too slow a powder in properly ported 7.62 Garand barrels. The USN and USAF rifle teams used 44 grains of IMR4320 under Sierra 190's in their 7.62 Garands for a long range load. It had the upper limit of port pressure. Op rods had to be perfectly shaped and fit to withstand the shock from the gas cylinder for such loads. And folks shooting that load could easily hear the difference in sounds of the metal parts slamming around when the M1 cycled.