Mauser Rifles

Barn Dog

I went to a shop today and saw two very nice 8mm Mausers but must admit I am not familiar with them at all - they just caught my eye due to their very fine condition. Markings are as follows:

BERLIN S/N 1369 DEUTSCHE WAFFER-UND

and the other is:

MOD 98 S/N 7120 BNZ 43 (this one is like new)

Any idea on history and especially what either might be worth is appreciated. I would like to get one of them. Thanks.

Barn Dog, I am no expert on Mauser rifles, but the second one you mention is I guess a Mauser 98K manufactured in 1943 by Steyr-Daimler-Purch, Styer. There is a lot of information available on the net concerning milsurp rifles. I own the second rifle you mentioned. Here are a couple links to get you started:

http://milsurpshooter.net/

http://talk.shooters.com/room_27/topics.cfm

Of course in going through these sites, you will see links to other related sites. Welcome to the fold. One thing about milsurp rifles, it is considered the height of ignorance to "BUBBAIZE" these rifles. Leave them as is, they are an historical item.

James K

Member In Memoriam
Some more details on the DWM rifle might help. The key to any real collector value is originality. Otherwise, they are shooters and fine for deer hunting and maybe worth not much.

Jim