Marlin Guide Gun in 45/70

smitty21

I am thinking about getting the Guide Gun, but I am new to 45/70. I'm trying to find out how good it is and what are some good loads. Please help me out

smitty21

J. Parker

smitty21; I've never hunted with one but I owned a Marlin 45/70 a few years ago. The big/heavy bullet fascinated me. The ammo was to pricey so I sold it. Nowadays, there's some absolutely powerful factory loads out there to chose from. Go to "search" and type in 45/70 and you'll get a whole bunch of info. Good Luck, J. Parker

Hawkeye

I have one and am pleased with it, but I haven't started handloading for it. It's a handy rifle and I'm thinking of it as a brush/woods gun for deer and elk. Gun Test Magazine had a good review on the rifle in January 2000 or so and that is worth searching out.

I did add as Ashley aperture rear sight and Williams front Firesight to mine, as I dislike the factory sights. I'll probably get the trigger worked on also. The gun is pleasant to shoot.

You might ask Rich about this rifle. I believe he has one and has had some work done on it.

Keith Rogan

Ditto on the above, excellent rifle for woods use.
The sights suck, but you can buy the Ashley or Wild West Ghost Rings for a reasonable amount. You have to replace the sights or the gun is almost unusable.'
As far as loads, any cast flat nose or truncated cone will serve for deer. If you want big game, see Mr. Garrett.

------------------
Keith
The Bears and Bear Maulings Page: members.xoom.com/keithrogan

JNewell

Another good sight option is the Williams Fool-Proof, which is rugged, quick (depending on aperture chosen, and easy to install.

I really like this rifle. The only comments are that I sorta wish it had a full-length mag tube (although it would not balance as nicely) and when shooting on a covered range the muzzle blast can be somewhat obnoxious.