making holsters and making money?

dave421

For those of you with your ccw permit, what would you pay for a kydex concealment holster (iwb) that's custom made? To give you an idea, I've been making my own for the past several months and I wear them daily. Everything from a Subcompact XD9 to my 226 and (sold) 1911. I've never been made by ANYONE (including my cop roommate & a bunch of other cops that all know I carry as well as friends that know it). I wear jeans/khakis/shorts and an untucked polo/button up shirt/ sweatshirt/jacket. I also walk/run/play basketball/etc. and I've never had so much as a slip. It's something that's a little time consuming but I enjoy it and I'm thinking about trying to make some money from it (start off slow with ebay or something). Any ideas?

dave421

I will be. Right now I'm out of supplies and waiting on my next shipment and the only pics I have are of some unfinished holsters that were in the basic mold & cut stage. I'll see if I can borrow a camera to get some pics of my others before I start the first batch.

starshooter231

I would be very interested

Do you think you could make a tuckable one for me:). I would be willing to pay a fare price for it thanks. Feel free to pm me.

Travismaine

I have been carrying for many years now and I have spent some good money on holsters. I myself like leather. I am not a fan of the kydex holsters.

2cam2go

dave421,
I started doing leather holster repairs for police officers I worked with at that time, 1977. Generally at NO cost (most bought me a coffee) because I liked working with leather. After I made holsters for myself and wore them to work my fellow officers liked them and started ordering holsters from me. My business has been growing ever since. Thats my story and it has worked for me.
I never tried selling on e-bay but it's a great way to get exposure. Advertising can be costly and not produce sales as expected.