Makarov owners

Amin Parker

Hi everyone.

I have handled and foldled Makarov pistols from different parts of the world with different grip panels and finishes. I have never shot one.

Makarov owners seem very pleased with their pistols and i am very happy about this.

I am considering getting one for my collection. Like 90% of my guns, it will be shot, be in my carry rotation but will obviously be well cared for and loved.

I would like to hear from Makarov owners about their experiences be it positive or negative. I would also like to hear from people that own the Mak clones, as long as said clone is made exactly as the genuine article.

Thank you for your information.

Mine's an East German Mak. Very smooth, very well made. The EGs are generally considered to be the best of the bunch.

I've not shot it much, but it's been very reliable.

AKsRul.e

I've been shooting 9x18 for a few years now.

Here's a P-64 and Bulgarian MAK I currently own.

makAB.jpg

The combloc guns are rock solid and range ammo is still
pretty cheap.

I can usually hit coke cans at 50ft. with the Bulgy. :)

Claddagh

I've owned two: a Russian IJ-70 commercial model and a Bulgarian milspec. Presently, I just have the Bulgie. I sold the IJ-70 to a fellow who wanted it a lot more than I did and was willing to fork over what I considered a ridiculous amount of cash to get it.

Build quality between the two was very comparable, with a slight edge in finish going to the Russkie. Both were dead-nuts reliable and capable of quite surprising accuracy. FWIW, the huge, clunky adjustable rear sight they tacked onto the Russian Mak for import points made little or no difference, as the front remained tiny, shiney and slow to pick up.