Maine is fast!

I'm a Vietnam veteran and a senior citizen now. When I was a child, my parents took us to spend my father's 2-week summer vacation at my grandparents' house in Maine. One of my favorite places used to be Acadia National Park, and I've been contemplating a trip "downeast" to see what the park is like today. Maine went to permitless carry, but you need a Maine permit to carry within the park. So ...

Not certain I'll be able to afford the trip but, to be prepared, I decided to ante up the 60 bucks and send away for the Maine carry permit. First issue was that they require a copy of a birth certificate. Mine disappeared years ago, and getting a replacement takes time (I don't live in my state of birth). So I called, and very nice lady with a delightful Maine accent assured me that a passport would be acceptable. Done.

The web site says to allow four to six weeks. My check was made out on May 14, which means I probably mailed it on the 15th or 16th. My Maine permit arrived in the mail today. Heck, it took me longer to fill out their six-page application form than it took them to process it.

I guess Maine wants to attract tourists. That's a novel idea -- my current state of residence is trying to balance the budget by CUTTING services that directly affect tourists ... which will result in driving tourists to neighboring states who will be happy to take better care of them.

Sheesh. Good for Maine.

FrankenMauser

Good for them.

Around here, 95% of the tourists are Asians on 'bucket list' vacations to visit the United States' National Parks (I'm a couple hours from Yellowstone, just off I-15, at a major hotel stop that's a "perfect" 8 hours from Las Vegas), or Californians on their way to the Tetons or Yellowstone.