machine pistol vs. small SMG

simonrichter

I always wondered why the US Army would choose the APC9 over e.g. the MP9 or the MP7. Are there any inherent advantages of the classic SMG design compared to the magazine-in-pistol-grip machine pistol layout? When it comes to compact size with still a useful barrel length, doesn't the latter fare much better? The question applies for the semiauto versions as well, of course!

rc

I'm no expert but I think with the magazine in the pistol grip the overall length can be made shorter.

44 AMP

Staff
Are there any inherent advantages of the classic SMG design compared to the magazine-in-pistol-grip machine pistol layout?

I think there are. And there are advantages to the other style as well. As to what the Army chooses and why, could be a lot of different things I'm not privy to. Sometimes its just cost. Other times it's other things, including perceptions of how one thing or another "enhances mission performance" or some other technobabbel in current favor.

ONE point where the separate pistol grip and magazine have an advantage is in how well most people can point and shoot them. In the "classic" SMG designs, with separate pistol grips and magazines, the pistol grips are nearly always angled a little or even a lot, to make a more easily used, ergonomic grip for the hand, and I believe this aids in being able to point and shoot well.