M1-A ??

KML

I just picked up a m1-a and have a few questions.It came with a loaded coupon that is date must use by 12/31/99 is springfied still accepting thes coupons?rifle left 11/26/99 according to there shipping tag.It also states this m1a has been headspaced to 1.6315,according to the current gi specs.This headspace requires the use of gi mil spes ammunition or good commercially manufactured ammunition(such as federal or pmc)that meets gi specs,which commercially manufactured ammo is best to use,also which surplus?

I am happy overall with this rifle but i am surprised that a rifle that cost this much does not come with a cleaning kit or sling and just one 5rd mag.I have not had a chance to fire this yet so i just hope half of what i hear about this rifles accuracy is true.

KEVIN

Destructo6

They probably mean that you should use 7.62 NATO, not commercial .308. I'm not an expert on the differences, but the 7.62 NATO's case thickness is supposed to be slightly thicker to allow it to expand fully in loose military chambers. The thin cased .308 may have a tendency (though probably unlikely) to split cases.

I just picked up a couple of 200 round battle packs of Hirtenberger 7.62 NATO for $35 each. There's a ton of surplus 7.62x51 on the market. Hirtenberger (German), Portugese, South African (PMP ;and others), Israeli, British (Radway Green), Venezuelan (Cavim), Chilean (yuck), and Indian (double yuck) are all currently on the market. You can usually tell the source by the box markings or just by asking.

Alan B

M-14 mags are expensive especially 20 rounder ones.. My recomendation is you order some from Cole Dist before they run out and things get real expensive. Cole sells them cheaper than Springfield and guess where springfield got theirs.
http://www.cole-distributing.com/specials.html