Luger appraisal?

Quincunx

Hope to get a little input from the Lugerphiles here. I've been offered one by a friend, who acquired it from a relative over 25 years ago. He states that he isn't really sure as to its worth, and I have little to no experience with Lugers. He states that he's willing to have me get it appraised by anyone I'd like, and he'll settle for asking approximately what the appraiser thinks it's worth. Therefore, any suggestions on someone (preferably in the eastern NC area, but not necessarily) to do the appraisal? Thanks very much in advance! I'll try to post some pictures, but all I have is my blurry little camera phone. :eek:

James K

Member In Memoriam
There are so many Luger variations and such a wide range of prices, that good pictures and a complete description of all marks would be the minimum needed for any honest appraisal. I would say that a Luger in reasonably good condition (some finish wear but no rust or broken parts) would bring at least $500-600. From there, the value can go up to 10k or more for rare pieces in exceptional condition.

Jim

Martowski

Here is a link to a gun shop that happens to be located near me. They are known nationally as one of the foremost "Luger shops" and experts in the nation. I have seen their collection supplied to gun magazines for photography, and they offer a Luger appraisal service.

This may be more than what you're looking for, but you can be guaranteed these guys know what they're talking about. It's not cheap, but if you're really looking for an expert opinion, here you go.

http://www.simpsonltd.com/

Quincunx

Update and thank you!