Lubing rifle cases

Vance

I have been reloading for my pistols for the last two years and a few months. Now I am going to start reloading .223's. I have a tube of case lube from lee that I got with my Lee anniversary breechlock challenger single stage that I never used. How do you tell when you have enough on the case? It says sparingly, but how sparingly? After I have sized/decapped, can I just run them in the tumbler for 10 to 30 minutes to clean the lube off instead of using a washcloth with soap and water?

Don't want a stuck case from not enough lube. Thanks, Vance.

ScottRiqui

I put the cases in a large bowl, put on some vinyl gloves, and squeeze about an inch of the Lee lube into my palm. I rub my hands together to spread around the lube, then sift my hands through the cases in the bowl until the lube is spread over the cases. After sizing, I run them through the tumbler to remove the lube.

I realize that my method gets lube on the case neck, which can evidently cause crushing/buckling of the shoulder in some rifle cases, but I've never had it happen with .223, and I've never had a case get stuck in the die.

hk33ka1

I didn't use the Lee lube much as I had already been using RCBS case lube 2 and Redding Imperial Sizing Die Wax.

You should have enough on the case body (not the outisde of the neck or shoulder) and a tad inside the neck so that cases size with a little bit of effort. If it is really hard to size a normal case like .223, then there is likely not enough lube and you should stop, remove the case and add more lube.

If you are only loading like 5-10 rounds I would just wipe them off with a rag. If you are doing a bunch I like to tumble just like you said for long enough to clean the lube off.

edit I see Scott uses the method for Lee lube that I hear many people like.

ScottRiqui

hk33ka1,