Looking for suggestions re a cheap deer rifle

Deegle

I am fairly new to rifles (been a handgun and shotgun guy for years). I turkey hunt, but would like to start deer hunting. I am looking for an inexpensive, but decent, gun to take into the woods. I don't want to be too upset if I scratch the thing. I'm willing to consider something used. Any ideas?

dahermit

Clunker deer rifle.

Military surplus rifles have started many hunters.

Swiss K-31s are cheap right now, as are Mosin-Nagants. Mauser k98s still abound.

Antihero47

Savage - Stevens - Mossberg

Some of the models are the cheapest in the market. I personally own a Mossberg 100 ATR and Remington 700 BDL. Both in 30-06. I have been taking my ATR out with pretty much astonishment at how well it will group. This is a newer rifle, not one of the older ones that had issues.

I purchased it for my family and friends to shoot while I shot my 700. But I have painted it and added some weight into one of the stocks that I own for it and it shoots really really well. (taking up reloading and it should be even better!)

I have it in synthetic - stainless steel. Kicks like a mule though since it does not pack much weight from the factory.

WeedWacker

#1) Is your intended range under or over 200 yards?
#2) Will this rifle hunt anything larger than deer?
#3) Would you prefer one action over another?

For over 200 yards with a rifle that will hunt somthing other than deer I would look for a surplus M1903 Springfield with scope taps if you can.

For under 200 yards with a deer slayin machine I would take my Yugo SKS.

Price for my M1903: $365 sporterized (came with a 3x-9x scope in a montecarlo style stock)

Price for my Yugo SKS:$220

But this is just me

jhgreasemonkey