LongRange Setup

PunchinPaper

I am new to long-range target shooting..
I want to give it a try, but I need advice.
I have a Rem 700 30-06 I plan to use for starters.
I also have a 20 M.O.A Base and a Scope that has 36 M.O.A,18 up and 18 down. I handload and have a ballistic calculator.
The loads I have been using show I need 38 MOA of adjustment at 1000 yards. That is with the scope 1.5" above the bore.
I am not sure if the 20MOA base will give me 1.5" above the center of the bore for starters. Also I'm not sure on how to zero my set up. Do I just put put the base on and zero my rifle then zero my scope and go from there?
Like I said I'm new to the game any help is apericeated.
I know there are better calibers for this, I want to use what I have on hand for now.
Thanks

Old Grump

Member in memoriam
30-06 is fine and your drop will depend on a lot of things like bullet weight, shape, velocity, barometer, humidity, prevailing winds etc. Don't over think it you have a lot of shooting to do before you will notice the finer points and by then you will either have it down pat or will be upgrading.

Does your 700 have a match barrel?

If you can't get what you need for range adjustment a shim under the scope will give you a little boost. By the time you really get seriously into it you will know what you need just by interacting with your fellow shooters on the line. The good ones will tell you what works for them. For right now try to keep it basic and don't get all caught up in fancy hardware and gizmos. What you really need is a coach and trigger time.

emcon5

Don't over think it you have a lot of shooting to do before you will notice the finer points and by then you will either have it down pat or will be upgrading.

This is worth repeating.

PunchinPaper

Thanks..
I am shooting a 24" factory barrel.
This rifle will shoot sub MOA with almost every load I have tried.