Loading Light Charges, Dangerous?

Uncle Buck

I was reading in one of my books (Loadbooks, The complete Reloading Manual for the .45 colt, page 30, Starting Loads. ) that you should never go below the listed starting charge for a given powder/bullet combo.

"Never decrease this charge as an increase in pressure could be encountered."

I do not understand how an increase in pressure could happen when you are using a smaller than suggested starting load. I would think that you would/might encounter squibs (Bullets stuck in the barrel).

Could someone explain this please. I have some starting loads that I want to reduce, probably by 10% so that I have very little recoil for the kids. Thanks.

daleo8803

im new to reloading but never heard that before..... my book, modern reloading by lee, says when first starting always use 10% less than the smallest charge to be safe. then move up. maby someone with more experence can help.

dale

wezalsgunsupply

I never even end up as hot as the start load.

I have been reloading for over 20 years hand gun ammo. I load mainly lead bullets. After enough years of practice I mainly go back to the book to double check OAL and such. But I generally start at about 80% of the starting load. I rarely end up at the starting load in the books. If your just punching paper and banging steel which I do. Why burn more powder and more recoil just to plink. My loads are such. 38 spl. 2.2 gr Bullseye the 148 gr wadcutter. Shoots good but way below book. 44 mag with 240 gr semi wad 7 gr unique. Start at about 80% of book starting loads and just find where your gun shoots the best and ride it.

Ozzieman

I’m with Blue on this. And thanks for bringing that thread up, it was good reading.
I have reduced loads for 45 LC and other calibers that work, but I don’t like them for several reasons.