Loading 43 mauser.

chasep255

I just fired my mauser 71/84 for the first time yesterday. It was my first experience with black powder and it was awesome. Last night I went to Buffalo Arms and unfortunately the ammo I bought last week is now out of stock. This is also the only 43 mauser I have been able to find for sale.
https://www.buffaloarms.com/43-maus...wder-ammo-385-grain-fn-box-of-20-amo43mauserb

I was planning on reloading this cartridge anyway once I shot through a few boxes of the ammo mentioned above so I guess now is the time to start. I have a lot of experience loading smokeless rifle cartridges but I have never worked with BP. I have so far put together the following list of components...

45 Cal Vegitable Fiber Wads: https://www.buffaloarms.com/45-caliber-rifle-060-vegetable-fiber-king-wads-bag-of-1000-kin45060vf

.446 Diameter Cast Bullets: https://www.buffaloarms.com/446-385...ube-from-rcbs-44-370fn-mould-box-of-50-446385

Lee Dies: https://www.buffaloarms.com/43-mauser-11-15x60r-lee-2-die-set-lee90806

Now I am kind of stuck on which powder to use. I looked at the load info on Goex's website and for 433 Mauser it lists 77 grains of FFF powder. However, I have heard elsewhere that FFF powder is to fast burning and that I should use FF instead. Does know of any other load data for 43 Mauser? Also I keep hearing that with black powder you measure by volume and not by weight. Do I need to get a new type of powder measure other than my scale?

http://www.goexpowder.com/images/LoadCharts/Cartridge-Rifle.pdf

Does anyone have and advice or want to share how they reload 43 mauser?

Also what wad diameter do I want? I can get .43, .44, and .45. I thought .45 might be best since the bullet is .446 diameter which is closets to .45?

Last edited:

JT-AR-MG42

Hey Chase,

Hope you de-capped and cleaned those BP cases you shot.
More on that later.

All my loading for the 43 mauser was with smokeless,