Loading 308 with H-414

chasep255

So the only rifle powder I have been able to find is Hodgdon 414. I have never used this powder before and it is not included in any of my loading manuals. I need to load 110 grain Sierra HP bullets in my 308. Does anyone know where I can find loading data for this?

Jim Watson

H414 is approaching too slow burning for the case volume of .308.
It only shows up in Hodgdon and Lyman data for the heavy bullets.

Best to get some 168 - 180 grain bullets if that is the only powder you can get. If you can get other bullets.

I don't know of any bad effects if you were to load a 110 over a powder charge recommended for 168... but that does not mean there aren't any.

DAVID NANCARROW

Agreed, H414 doesn't even show up on their reloading site until you get to 155 grain bullets as a recommendation. I have had good luck with H380 but that's a faster burning powder

SSA

Hodgdon #26 and Sierra's second edition manual both show a max of 54 gr H414 with a 110 ge bullet. That's probably a full case.

McShooty

That would be a full case, but combining a slow powder with a light bullet will give very unsatisfactory results.

chasep255

I usually use H335 but like I said that is all the gun shop had for me. Maybe I can get heavier bullets. I am shooting these out of a Remington 700 VTR so I have heard that I want to stay away from heavier bullets due to the twist rate.

SSA

Stick with lead-core soft points, as opposed to hollow points, plastic tips or all copper bullets, and anything up to 180 grains should be fine.
Anything 150 or under should work.

Paul B.

I have an earlier copy of the One Book/One caliber loading booklets for the .308 Win. It does have data for W760 which is the same as H414. Start with the starting load and carefully work up.

W760/110 gr. bullet:

Start: 52.0gr/2878 FPS/39,900 C.U.P.

Max: 54.0 gr./2961 FPS/44,800 C.U.P.