Loaded & ready with A-Zoom Snap Caps

sliponby

I recently acquired a SW442 and, following the advice of some from this forum, bought some A-Zoom snap caps and have been dry firing hundreds of times to help smooth out the trigger. I have noticed good results as the trigger is definitely smoothing out.

My safety protocol when dry firing is to unload gun in a separate room to keep ammo away to avoid any chance of ND. I'm relatively new to revolvers and have been working the 442 into my carry rotation.

The other day I pocketed my holstered 442 and rushed out the door to start my day. After lunch I was able to get in a brief range session on my private range on my land. I usually fire my carry ammo to load fresh after a range session. I pull out my 442, make ready and take aim, then a shockingly loud and surprising "click" as the hammer fell on an A-Zoom snap cap.:eek:

Needless to say, lesson learned...

chewie146

We always called that Barney-Fifing it. It wasn't necessarily carrying with snap caps...that's a new one on me. It was when someone would go to clear a weapon and realize they didn't have a chambered round to begin with. It makes you think, and generally gets to teased. I've never been guilty of that one, but about 6 years ago, I really wish I had followed your safety protocol for dry fire practice. My one and only true ND was the result of that. Now I follow a similar protocol, but I've become more adamant about checking to make sure I am carrying a weapon in the condition I think I am. I.e. check before I leave the house to make sure I'm concealing more than a paper weight and triple-double check before I "dry fire."

Mello2u

Amazing how loud a click can be when you expect a boom.

Good lesson to learn without any serious negatives.

aarondhgraham

It could have been worse,,,

then a shockingly loud and surprising "click" as the hammer fell on an A-Zoom snap cap.

That's better than a shockingly loud BOOM as you blow your TV set away.