Llama Sticking Shells

PPBart

I'm a virtual newbie to handguns -- haven't owned one for decades, haven't even fired one in years -- until just a few days ago. An elderly acquaintance gave me a Llama Commanche 1 revolver. At the time, he said he had purchased the gun in ~1983, fired it a few times, then put it away and forgot about it until doing some closet-cleanout recently. The gun looks like new, and despite the generally negative comments I've read on the net, it does seem to have good fit/finish. I checked it over, cleaned it up, then took it to the local Bass Pro Shop range. I loaded it with Federal LR first and fired 6 rounds. When I tried to eject the shells, they really wouldn't budge at all. The range tech saw my difficulty and brought a small brass hammer with which he tapped the ejector rod (terminology?) until the shells came out. He suggested trying different ammo, so I bought a box of Winchester -- same problem. The cylinder bores (terminology?) were thoroughly cleaned, so I don't think it was a matter of gunk sticking the shells in place. Is this a common problem? How to correct it?

BTW -- I saw the donor again yesterday and told him about the problem. He said something along the line of "Oh, yes, that happened to me, too. That's why I put it aside and forgot about it."

EDIT -- It occurred to me that the cylinder bores might be a little rough (although I cannot see anything to support that) and that could be causing the shells to stick when they expand. Maybe I could smooth the bores with lapping compound?

Last edited:

g.willikers

Assuming the new rounds go into the cylinder chamber holes ok, then the first place to look is the surface of the chambers.
They might have been roughly finished at the factory and need some light polishing.
Use a polishing compound and a suitable tool to remove any imperfections.
Try to make the chambers as smooth as possible.
This should help.