Let's load some .380 Auto, whatcha say?

Yoosta B. Blue

My new dies are set to arrive here tomorrow. I'm not a rank beginner at reloading, but this will be my first time to reload these short 9mm rounds.

Are there any unique caveats or pitfalls I should watch for when loading .380? Thanks! :D

Yoosta B . Blue

All that comes to mind is to double-check your powder measure will throw the small charges accurately enough? My dad used to load these, and IIRC, he took a fired .25 ACP case found at the range, soldered a paperclip wire into the extractor groove to make a handle, then filed the case down to make a powder scoop tailored for the .380 charges. Was using Bullseye or 231, I believe?

Tuzo

My handgun reloads range from .44 Mag down to .380 Auto. Not much difference except in scale and the type of crimp. Loading .380 is nearly the same as loading 9mm.

I use an RCBS Little Dandy powder measure that is checked against a beam scale. The Little Dandy is fast and accurate with pistol powders. Have fun.

Yoosta B. Blue

Thanks for the replies. I don't foresee a problem with my powder thrower (a Lyman 55) being unable to throw small enough charges. I have three powders that I plan to test with the .380 loads, these being Unique, Bullseye, and 231. The charges will range from 3.0 gr to 3.9 gr and these numbers are in the range of what I'm used to loading other stuff with...

After I load a few and test them early next week, I'll swing back by here and post the results. Thanks again for the help. :D

Yoosta B. Blue

Stargazer