Legal defense insurance

Actually, I don't know if it's "insurance," or something else. I'm at the point of realizing that I have been carrying for too many years without any sort of special insurance (or whatever) against the possibility that I might actually have to use my carry gun for purpose intended. I know there are products or plans out there, but I have no idea how to compare or rate them.

Some, I think, are just pre-paid legal fee pools, while perhaps others also include a liability insurance component. A friend has been talking up the U.S. Concealed Carry Association and their so-called "Self Defense SHIELD" program. The USCCA plan sounds attractive the way they describe it, but their EXTREMELY aggressive marketing tactics are an instant turn-off to me.

The NRA magazine carries ads for SecondCall Defense.

What else is out there? How does someone compare and evaluate the plans that are out there?

Mike38

I have CCW SAFE. No idea what's the best or worse out there. It's one of those things you pray that you never need to use.

Ramey

I've been looking into this as well. Some are only reimbursement policies. Meaning if you are acquitted they reimburse all the legal expenses. I will go with a plan that pays for the lawyer up front and even will post your bond as well. Peace of mind.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Skans

In my opinion, this is some of the hokiest BS snake oil ever sold. And, if it's not snake oil, it will cost you an arm and a leg. "Not Snake Oil", means that the insurance is underwritten by Lloyds, Safeco, Travelers, Chubb, Nationwide and maybe Allstate. It also means that it covers criminal defense and civil defense. It also means that it doesn't just cover you if you are "not guilty" and cover appeals as well.

Some of these so-called insurance plans are just law groups selling you pre-paid legal services - you DON'T want that. How hard is a lawyer going to fight for you if you only paid a total of $1,000 in "premiums"?