Left over cleaning residue

doh_312

The first time I cleaned my carry gun I overdid it with the cleaning solvent and oil. Saturated the gun with the cleaning solvent and didn't allow it to dry before oil. That only made it worse. But being a newbie I threw the gun in the holster on my hip and went on my way. At the end of the day my holster was saturated with cleaning solvent and oil. I had to let the leather dry for two days and it took a full week to stop reeking of cleaning solvent. How long of a "dry time" do you guys give your guns before adding oil or shoving them in a holster?

Keltyke

I don't apply so much cleaning solvent. Only a couple of drops is really needed. Of course, I clean after every 50 rounds, too, possibly more often that most. Keep it clean and it doesn't need so much cleaning after a day at the range.

I wipe the solvent off with a paper towel, let it dry, then apply only a small drop or two of gun grease, not oil, at specific wear points.

As for your holster, you may never get all the solvent out of it. Try some K2R. Good luck!

Walther22lr

I usually wipe the parts dry as I go along after they are clean to remove any solvent. Some people use an air compressor too.

I only oil the parts that need it and use very little. Grease is used on areas that slide and again, just a little and only on the parts that need it.

Reassemble the gun, give it a wipe down with a very light oily rag and I am good to go. Its not greasy or dripping wet either. :)

I do live in a desert climate, so humidity is not an issue and that allows me a bit more leeway as far as how much (or rather how little) lube to give the gun.

Tom2