lee dippers, who uses them?

bamaranger

me

'I've got an old set, black plastic, and a newer set, yellow, though bpoth are over twenty years old.

Handy for single stage loading. Before I got a Loadmaster, I often used a dipper and a trickler/scale for rifle rounds. Much of my handgun ammo came straight from the dipper.

Not a lot of options, but simple, cheap and affordable.

Marco Califo

They are useful

They include them with dies, and usually they are in the range I need for a powder I have. They do deliver consistent charges, and after checking a few with a scale, I have used them for target loads.

I do like the Lee perfect powder measure http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/default.aspx?productNumber=540522 better though. It comes with a stand bracket and the cc volumetric measure is useful to dial in very close to your intended charge on the first charge, by referencing the included powder density data http://media.midwayusa.com/pdf/instructions/Perfect_Powder_Measure.pdf. For $20.

Last edited:

jmortimer

Have two sets. Dippers are all I use. Nice not to use a scale once I open a cannister and check the powder to make sure what the dipper is throwing. Since I mostly use Unique, it can be a year or two or more before I have to break out a scale if I buy 8 lbs. No moving parts and is the safest way to reload. Key is to get your technique down so you throw consistent charges +/- .1. Making your own out of used brass is really nice for custom dippers.

dwhite

I've got a set and use a few of them frequently. I like them better than my powder measure as there's nothing to adjust. They do throw consistent charges even with flaky powders and Unique.

Loaded some rounds with Clays today. I dipped 10 charges onto my scale and weighed it at 33 grains. Usually get 3.2 +/- 0.1 per dip so this is more than adequate repeatability.