Lead Fouling

cdbeagle

I have a Colt Cobra and DS. The only ammo I have been able to find lately is Winchester White box 150 grain lead round nose, which I have been using. Will these bullets cause fouling in the barrels? And this may seem like a stupid question but how can I tell if there is lead fouling? I have a bore light but don't know what lead fouling looks like. I am new to revolvers as you can probably tell.

Ozzieman

Will they? Yes but only if you shoot a lot of them.
What you look for is at the start of the barrel. You will see gray streaks along the lands. It’s easy to get out as long as you don’t let it build up. A good brush and cleaner like Hoppe's will take care of it.
I have never used Win lead so I don’t know how hard they are but most bullets will take up to 1000 feet per second without causing a lot of leading.
I shoot almost nothing but lead and I reload, I shoot a lot during the summer and have never had a problem.
Do a Google search for “Leaded barrel” and select images and you can see what leading looks like.

jad0110

Lead buildup will be obvious when you see it. It will be dull compared to the surrounding metal. The best solution I've found is the Lewis Lead Remover tool, along with a home brew cleaner known as "Ed's Red" (equal parts kerosene, acetone, mineral spirts and transmission fluid). There are some variations in the additives, so you might goodle "Ed's Red" to do you own research. Makes a very good, affordable lead remover that is safe to use on blued finishes. FYI, the Ed's Red by itself works pretty good, especially if you soak to bore and chambers right after shooting. Just remove the grips if they are wood.

I get some copper Chore Boy and wrap it around my copper brush, it will scrub it right out.

If the lead bullet is sized right and lubed right you'll get very little lead in your barrel.

Frasier