L.E.O.'s Requirments & qualification with handguns.

12-34hom

As many of you know i work as a peace officer in Iowa. As such, i have to qualify with my duty weapon twice a year.

This consists of Standard F.B.I. course, shot at a B-27 target, 50 shots, in relay's [each one timed] to pass muster an 80% score or better is needed. 250 = perfect score.

To me, this is fairly easy and sometimes wonder why more stringent requirments are not asked for peace officers. [like uping the requirment score to 90% would make sense to me]I have seen some officers in my county that are very poor shots & thier saftey ain't all that great either.

What is the consenses of the membership here? Any peace officers here want to chime in = feel free with suggestions and idea's along with anyone else who has a suggestion.

I know there are many factors that limit how much time and money is spent on training with handguns for duty porposes.

Thanks for any or all replies.

Chris Orndorff

Time and money, time and money. Our standard is 70% (on a 20 round course that we change each year-includes weak hand, flashlight, movement, etc.) and if we raised that standard by much we wouldn't have many people working here anymore. Specifically, the Administrative types would be looking for work, so...

We used to shoot a 60 round course, and when we changed to the 20 round courses it was interesting to note that the average score didn't change at all; 86-87%. Btw, we only qualify once a year.

No argument here that our standards should be raised. But you gotta have a) a boss who cares or b) a lawsuit.

M1911

I'm not a LEO, but could you tell me what the standard FBI course of fire is?

At LFI-2, we fired two qualifiers. One was quite challenging. The other was supposedly a "standard" police qualifer that was not very challenging. We used B27 targets. IIRC, the course of fire was:

1) at 10 yards, from the holster, draw and fire 6 shots, reload, fire 6 more shots. Time limit was 25 seconds.