Kindness Shown in the Gun Community.

5whiskey

So first a story, then followed with a question.

I took my daughter to a local range here in Central NC a few days ago. While there I saw a family sighting in a few hunting rifles. Really nice seeming family. I marveled over an older semi-automatic hunting rifle of theirs laying out on the table behind the bench, and called my daughters attention to the beautiul figured wood stock. I didn't recognize the rifle, but just knew that it was gorgeous. I was shooting my Yugo Mauser. The father struck up a conversation with me after seeing me shoot, asking if I collected old war rifles and if I was a veteran {he noticed a USMC patch on my rifle bag}. I told him that I did collect old WWII era rifles, despite my collection being meager, and that I was a veteran and current National Guard. He mentioned that he had an old rifle like mine at home and wanted my phone number. I gave it to him, expecting him to have questions about it.

The gentleman calls me the next day trying to sell his rifle. I find out its a type 99. As thrilled as I was, as I want all the major bolt action rifles of WWII and I dont have an Arisaka yet, I told him I just couldnt buy it from him now with Christmas coming up. He even offerred to take a $100 deposit and I could take the rifle and pay him the rest after Christmas. I told him I didnt feel comfortable doing that, and told him I would call him when I got the money to see if he still had it. I thanked him for the offer though. He wanted $300 for it... not the best price ever but fair. He called a couple days ago and offered it again at $200. I again had to decline, but told him I could probably scrape that up quickly.