K Frame & Warm 357

1972RedNeck

My go to load for 357 Mag is 16.5 grains of H110 under a 158 gr bullet.

I recently picked up a Smith 65-6 that is quickly becoming one of my favorites.

I read conflicting info about what these K Frames can take and what they can't.

Will my loads take a toll on my M65 or am I worrying about nothing?

mehavey

16.5 grains of H110 under a 158 gr bullet.
That's a fairly hot load.
(But) it's not going to blow anything up, and I predict you'll tire out before the Smith does.
Being a reloader (you) have lots of options.

ligonierbill

Common wisdom holds that 125s loaded at or near max tend to crack the forcing cone. But I have no direct knowledge of such. Your gun should "take" anything within published limits. Will heavy loads accelerate wear? I imagine so, but I agree with mehavey. You'll wear out first.

Nick_C_S

16.5 grains of H110 under a 158 gr bullet.
That's a fairly hot load.

I would respectfully disagree - kind of.

I load a lot of 158 grain bullets with H-110 (and W296 - same stuff) with a charge considerably hotter than 16.5gn for quite a few years now. And I consider the charge weight I use now to be "de-tuned" compared to what I used to load back in pervious decades. 16.5 is pretty tame.

But I do agree that either way - "hot" or not - I wouldn't be concerned with putting that load (158 / 16.5gn H-110) through it. Like mehavey said, It would be a very long time before that load would loosen up the gun.

The general consensus is that running hot ammo with light bullets tends to be the problem.

44 AMP

Staff
Will my loads take a toll on my M65 or am I worrying about nothing?

The short answer is "Yes". :D