Just Starting

JP Sarte

If I am new to reloading and spend about $600.00 on a setup, how long will it typically take to recoup my initial investment and start getting "ahead"?

1. I shoot a .270 Winchester.
2. I just started saving brass. I have about 500 empty shells.
3. I shoot about 100 shells a month.

JP

T. O'Heir

You're already ahead. Once you have the load worked up, you'll forget about cost. Reloading is about using the best possible ammo in your rifle, not saving money. Reloading also means you will shoot more, usually, for less.
In any case, take the average price for a box of ammo you used to buy, divide that into the $600. That'll tell you how many boxes $600 would buy. Then, if you really want to, figure out how much a box costs you to reload. (7,000 grains to a pound.)
Midway(not the least expensive place, but it'll give you an idea. Have their site bookmarked for just such a question.) wants $17.99 plus shipping$$$(buy components locally, no shipping.) per 20 for Remington 130 grain Core-lokt's. About 90 cents a shot without the shipping. $600 will buy 33 boxes without the shipping.
You have the brass. (get 'em all trimmed, chamfered/deburred, sized and primed and store 'em in a coffee can or a plastic bin with a lid.)
100 of those bullets runs $17.29. About 17 cents each.
$27.99 for 1,000 primers. About 3 cents each
$20.99 for a pound of IMR4064. 43.5 grains is the accuracy load given in my Lyman manual for a 130 grain bullet. A pound will yield 160 rounds. About 13 cents for the powder.
That's about 33 cents per shot or $6.60 per 20. $33 for your 100 rounds vs $17.99 per 20. Roughly 18 months at 100 rounds per month. Mind you, my arithmetic isn't that great.

JP Sarte

T. O'Heir:

Thanks for the information. There seems to be a lot of different books on reloading out there which one is generally considered the best?

Sidetracked