Jungle Clips?

Sixer

Anyone know anything about "jungle clips" for M1 Carbines? I have seen many palces that offer them online but I cant find much information about them. I am particularly interested in their purpose and how they are used. I appreciate any knowledge you can share! :)

TPAW

Anyone know anything about "jungle clips" for M1 Carbines?

Can't say that I have. Besides, the M-1 Carbine uses magazines, not clips, as far as I know? But then again, I'm no expert on M-1 Carbines. JMHO...:confused:

dalegribble

jungle clips are a piece of metal that joins two hi cap mags together. you finish one mag and the other is right there ready to use.

Hk_Allday

to TPAW's point, M1's (Garands anyway) used magazines that held 8 rounds together in a small metal device that actually fit down inside the receiver action, right? not a conventional box-style that we call a magazine today. Why wouldn't they have called the M1 clip, well... a "clip"?

When the last round was fired, the empty metal piece would eject out and go "TING!" alerting the enemy that you were in the process of reloading :)

They typically came issued in a OD "sling" or bandoleer with about 20 of them in it I think. All speculation though, I'm no expert.

TPAW

to TPAW's point, M1's (Garands anyway) used magazines that held 8 rounds

Wait a second here! M-1 Garands used clips and M-1 Carbines used mags.

dalegribble is correct... Jungle clips simply hold 2 magazines together allowing instant access to a spare mag

In Vietnam we called it Duct Tape, fixed everything!........;)

ISC

yes, clips (enbloc) are used in some rifles like Garands, carcanos, and M95 Steyrs

Clips (stripper) are also used to loadsome rifles with internal magazines like the SKS and most WWII bolt action rifles. They can also be used in combination with a charger to load detatchable magazines.

Magazines can be detachable, fixed, or internal.