Jim March - What's your take?

Russ

Jim,

I have found you to be particularly astute regarding the political environment in California. As a California resident, I apprecitate your opinions. They have given me hope that not all is lost.

Do you have any information or opinions regarding handgun owners license bill pending in the CA Sentate and Assembly and the likelyhood that Red Davis will sign such a bill?

Thanks,

Russ

Jim March

Hi Russ, don't sweat the spelling.

Here's what I know so far:

SB52, the Senate version, is currently a "handgun BUYER'S permit". If you simply keep the guns you have, there's no impact on you. In effect, it's a "souped up" version of the BFSE card. BUT, figure that both it and the Assembly version are in a state of flux.

The Sheriff's association is saying they're going to each need to dedicate a cop or two to the program, and the current fee structure of around $12 to the local department isn't going to *begin* to cover costs. We could be looking at up to 1,000 cops taken off the street to process this BS paperwork. Hence it's going to face one hell of a fight in the Appropriations committees. Those are our best shots at stopping it, not Davis.

Other issues: at present, the forms are only going to be available in English. Some NRA lobbyists testified at the Senate Safety Committee hearing in Japanese (Joel Friedman) and Spanish (Manny Hernandez) on that very point (I was there last week). Understand that California has a long history of racism in gun permits; racist elements of the CCW system have been stripped out in state court but all the way to present, CCW applications are in English only.

Driver's license applications are in 34 languages. Gee, what was that about "wanting to license guns like cars"?