I've got a web page now. Feedback?

Brett Bellmore

Hi, guys! (And gals, naturally!) My new ISP offers 5MB of space for a web page, so I'm taking advantage of it, at www.tir.com/~bellmore The page isn't done yet, (I'm still learning HTML.) and I won't be adding pictures of my guns until I've got another chance to borrow the departmental digital camera. But what do you think?

Ed Brunner

Brett; I am trying to learn "how to do"web pages. A friend who does websites told me to get Adobe Page Mill software.
Maybe some of our computer literaries would comment?

------------------
Better days to be,

Ed

Brett Bellmore

Well, I picked up a copy of "Learn HTML in a weekend". Seems straightforward enough, and came with a CD full of utilities. (Mostly evaluation copies of software, which you'd have to register to keep using.) The book recomends learning to write the langage yourself before using software for automated page creation. Of course, what's it going to say, "Forget this book, and buy XYZ software instead!"? By the way, that site was based on just a couple hours of reading; Didn't have the whole weekend free.

[This message has been edited by Brett Bellmore (edited July 22, 1999).]

John/az2

Brett,

I purchased the same book, and still don't have a page up, but that's not the book's fault! I fit in a page or two when I make the time. I like the way it is written and it works for me!

------------------
John/az

"The middle of the road between the extremes of good and evil, is evil. When freedom is at stake, your silence is not golden, it's yellow..."

Ipecac

I tried Page Mill, but I like Netscape Composer better. With any of the programs like Pagemaker or composer, you will eventually run into a problem you can only correct by going into html. It's easy to pick up, just look at the page source of a good page, and you'll see the html language.

BTW, my page is at: www.ptialaska.net/~ipecac

Most ISPs provide website space; use it to educate or infuriate the antis.