Itching for a lever action and need some input....

(BH)

Well boys, I'm starting to feel my newest itch, but I'm not quite sure how to scratch it.

I have a big gap in my collection... no lever actions. I think I need to fix this with something of the .44 mag denomination, but I might end up going with a 30-30. I'm leaning towards the .44 because I'm planning on upgrading to a .44 mag woods gun soon, so I figure having the same caliber for both would be nice.

For those of you who have experience with both: Do you see any major reason I would want to go with the 30-30 instead? Pros/Cons? As far as 30-30 is concerned, I'm looking at the Marlin 336W, good gun?

I believe I want a Marlin, but I have also heard good stuff about Puma and Rossi. I'm hesitant to buy anything Brazilian, so I'd love to hear from some of you who have experience with these. I have this feeling that if I go Marlin, I won't regret it.

I'd love some all around input from people with experience. I'm no newbie, but until now I've just never really had any immediate interest in lever actions. I guess the time has come to fill that gap.

jhenry

I have the Marlin 30-30 and a Winchester M94 in 30-30. Like them both, but I do prefer the M94's for it's svelte lines, and greater comfort in carry over the miles. Accuracy is about a draw. I do not like the rather bulbous forearms favored by Marlin and intend to reshape mine over the winter after dealing with refinising an intact but oddly spray painted Lee Enfield MK III*, 1917. Gold sparay paint on the metal for Pete's sake. What were they thinking.

badlander

Marlin is A good choice. I would go with the 30-30. I want A rifle to shoot A rifle round. opinions will vary.
45-70 is more fun than 30-30 or .44

L_Killkenny