Is NFA a good example of the highest tax rate ever?

Oleg Volk

Staff Alumnus
I recall reading that sound suppressors sold for $2-5 in 1934, making the $200 tax on them equivalent to 4,000-10,000% tax rate. Can anyone name any other goods or services which were taxed more, ever in the human history? Makes the Moorish taxes on Christians and Jews seems downright tame by comparison...

(Yeah, was off by one zero)

Last edited:

tyme

Administrator
I think you stuck extra zeros on those.

Anyway, I bet mailing stamps have taxes on that order (I don't know what they cost to make), but there you're paying for a service.

Ceol Mhor

A 4,000-10,000% tax would mean that the tax cost 40 to 100 times as much as the product. In this case, it would mean that a machine gun cost $2-$5 to produce. That sounds low to me, but I'm no expert on 1934 economic history.

Justin

I think that Oleg was referring to the tax on suppressors. IIRC, a Thompson back in those days cost something like $250. Even then, that's a really high tax rate. Even moreso if you figure what the cost of an average break-open shotgun was back then, around $8-$10.

JoshM75

Tax or Charge

The only higher tax rate I've ever heard of was the Senator Metzembaum [sp?] proposal for a special tax on small calibre ammunition. 1000% per shot or something equally ridiculous.

How can the NFA be a tax anyway, that seems pretty unconstitiutional to me.

I remember reading somewhere that a tax on newsprint ink was deemed illegal as being a violation of the first by SCOTUS. That should supposedly set a standard for the other amendments as well.

If the NFA was deemed a charge for services rendered [dubious as that is] it may be more "acceptable", as it is not for direct revenue purposes.

If charges are based on costs only, then that would be alot lower then $200.

Assuming of course that the BATF doesn't grossly inflate their cost of operating the NFA.

swampgator

JoshM75,