Is it common to have FTE w/mag removed?

JAYBIRD78

I'm new to semi-auto handguns. I recently purchased a XD45 Service and I just think it's great. However as I practice more with this fine weapon I decided to fire it with the magazine removed to see what the results were. It fired fine and I hit the target fine, but every time I did this it failed to eject the empty case from the ejection port. Is this normal? Do other pistols do the same? A little knowledge would be most welcomed.

Otto Mattik

Sure, some do. That round coming up or the mag follower is an incentive for the empty to go OUT instead of down or nowhere.
It puts a lil pressure on the extracting round on some guns.

JohnKSa

Administrator
I've heard one person claim that every Glock he's ever fired without a magazine in place has ejected the empty down the magazine well...

I keep forgetting to try it when I'm at the range.

Manedwolf

The only one I'd done that accidentally with was the tiny Jetfire, and yes, it indeed stovepiped if the mag wasn't in place.

KALIFORNIST

It depends on the pistols design but I have had alot of pistols eject down instead of out.I dont mind how it gets out in this case as long as it does.I test this with every pistol to see what would happen if I hit the mag release in a scuffle and had to get that last round off before I could reload.One thing I did notice was that pistols that were designed with a magazine safety tend to have this problem more then ones that dont.(I cant stand a mag safety and I usually disable them if they are easy to disable).

Otto Mattik

KALIFORNIST.... I just last year RE-connected my BHP mag safety. It's a BITCH if you ever use a disconnected one for self defense. You've already lost the court case in that situation.

I don't like em, but the actual BREAK of the trigger isn't affected at all by the safety.

I ..do... have a great trigger job on the Browning.