Is Desert Eagle "in" with Walther on the P99-AS? (pic)

tjhands

I found a gun that looks and functions EXACTLY like a Walther P99-AS. It would be a blantant patent infringement if they are separate. I want a Walther P99-AS but this Baby Desert Eagle is NIB for $580 and I will certainly buy it if they're together and it's the same gun.

If you KNOW whether they're the same gun, please chime in. If you don't know, just sit back and kindly be educated like I'm doing. I'd like to keep the ambiguous noise to a minimum.

Thanks, y'all. :)

Last edited:

tjhands

OK, here's the pic. Tell me this isn't a Walther P99. The trigger is exactly the same as the "Anti-Stress" one on the P99-AS. Has to be the same gun, no??

BEFA_L.jpg

rsxr22

wow i have never seen that before! I have no knowledge of Walther and DE being partners of any sorts. DE is Israeli and Walther, German. SW has released a gun that is the same as the P99 externally and that is because they are now in charge of Walther's US imports.
That DE is some crazy stuff, you got me!

David the Gnome

It's impressive that they managed to make the Walther P99 look ugly.

FYI, the Walther P99 can be had for the exact same price as that Magnum Research can.

ScottRiqui

Looking at the German Walther website, they're distributors for Magnum Research's guns, so there's obviously some kind of relationship between the two.

Also, if you read through this thread on the Walther Forums, evidently the pictures in the Baby Desert Eagle owner's manual show Walther banners on some of the disassembled parts. The consensus seems to be that the frames are made by Walther, with the "uppers" being made in the U.S.

voyager4520

Walther had a licensed version of the P99 that was produced by S&W. Since S&W started importing the real P99, they dropped their licensed version of it. So Walther licensed the design out to another company, Magnum Research(now Kahr).

(BH)

Yeah, that's for real.