Internal Lock

KMAX

I don't like to be ignorant, so help me here. Will someone explain the internal lock on the S&W. What do they do? How do they work? What are the problems with them? I have no experience with them, but I am considering buying a 638 for pocket carry. I would like to know beforehand. Thanks.

American Eagle

You lock the trigger by inserting a key into the tiny lock hole. That's how it works.

I think concerns about lock failures are vastly blown out of proportion. The number of documented cases is so tiny as to be almost statistically irrelevant.

You are a thousand times more likely to get a stove pipe in a semi-auto, or a magazine failure in a semi-automatic. And your revolver is probably a hundred times more likely to have any other failure....ie. timing issues, etc.

The lock is not a big deal. Most people that hate them do so for cosmetic reasons, or because they are traditionalists.

dahermit

I don't like to be ignorant, so help me here. Will someone explain the internal lock on the S&W. What do they do? How do they work? What are the problems with them? I have no experience with them, but I am considering buying a 638 for pocket carry. I would like to know beforehand. Thanks.
The feature allows an owner to use a key to lock the gun to prevent unauthorized persons (kids, et. Al.), to be able to fire the gun, even if it is loaded. There have been some reported problems with them engaging without turning the key and subsequently making the gun instantly and unintended inoperable.