Interesting idea

thesheepdog

An avid shooter, reloader and hunter; I have been pondering something about ammunition for the past couple of days: Is it possible to make a cartridge that propels a projectile using liquid? I know physics to an extent, but I am no expert on it.

So, I think it will work like this: You fill a case with some sort of liquid, and add a type of primer in it that won't be affected by liquid. When the firing pin strikes the primer, the explosive force pressurizes the water forward and launches the projectile. Kind of like a combustion engine, with the exception of using an inert liquid and a high explosive primer.

I guess one of the questions would be: "what happens to the liquid?". Well I would assume it would just vaporize-depending on what type of liquid you use. I think this could be neat for the military and heavy machine guns-the bore would stay much cooler due to no hot gasses.

Of course, I am not trying to reinvent the wheel; I just like the science behind firearms and am just wondering if this has ever been tried before, or if it's even possible.

Thanks.

Mods, if this thread needs to be moved, go ahead.

sc928porsche

What you are discribing is hydrostatics. Would it work?....maybe, depending on many factors. Would it be efficient?....no. Liquids do not compress so you would need your charge to be sufficient enough to force the bullet out of the barrel at the speed which you desired.

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
You still need something to create the force to "hammer" the water. All you're doing is creating some ungainly sort of creature. It's a "Why bother?" sort of deal, seems to me...

Plus, your primer and accelerant would then have to accelerate the mass of the water as well as the projectile, not to mention the accelerant itself.

(Remember that when you calculate recoil in a conventional firearm, you must add the weight of the powder charge to the weight of the bullet.)

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus