Interested in .308

Harry Callahan

My first post in the rifle area. I am looking for a decent value in a .308 rifle. I have checked Browning, Savage and a couple of others. Savage has a "package" rifle in which the rifle comes with a scope. Seems like decent prices but I'm not real familiar with rifles at this point. Brownings are nice but seem overpriced. I am looking at either bolt action or possibly semi auto and I'm absolutely lost. I like natural wood stocks and blued barrel. Seems like the .308 is ballistically close to 30.06 without as much kick. Any suggestions?

onemsumba

you'll do fine with either.

the browning will have better fit and finish. You won't get that nice of a stock or scope on the Savage package deal.

Harry Callahan

Any makes I should stay away from and why? Also what are the pros and cons concerning bolt action vs. semi auto? Sorry for all the questions but I'm a relative newb when it comes to rifles and like my high school math teacher used to say "the only bad question is one that's never asked".

swampdog

What do you plan on using it for? Hunting, target, SD, all of the above?
Excellent choice of caliber, btw, it's very versatile.

jhgreasemonkey

I can vouch that the savage is a great rifle and value. I bought a 30-06 rifle/scope combo and am still using the cheepo simmons scope with great results. The rifle is acurate as heck and the trigger is awsome. accu trigger. I love it.

Harry Callahan

I don't hunt but I love to target shoot, plink, etc. I know you're asking yourself "then what the heck does he want with a deer rifle"? You may have a valid point, also. I just remember shooting my grandfather's when I was a kid and have wanted one ever since. Is .308 ammo pretty reasonable?

jhgreasemonkey

.308 ammo is very reasonable. You picked the right caliber for high power rifle frequent shooting because a lot of inexpensive mil surplus is available. And a ton of versitility for reloading.

tINY