IMR 4064 Failure to Ignite

Chipperman

This is a long story that I will try to make short.

Last week I opened a brand new 8lb jug of IMR 4064 to make up some 7.5x53.5 rounds. Using Federal large rifle primers I made up some rounds and went to the range.
*click*. Nothing

Today I made up some new ones using CCI 34 primers. Still nothing. Click, no bang.
I also made up some rounds with H4895 which worked perfectly with both primer types.

The first day it was about 20 degrees out, today was about 30. I have heard that 4064 can be temperature sensitive, but I did not expect complete failure to fire. I emptied one of the rounds out and took a lighter to it. It did burn but took a while to light and burned VERY slowly.

Did I get a bad jug? I've never used 4064 before so have no experience with it. I paid about $240 for it so I will be very displeased if it's bad. I know it's not old because I bought it the day it came in from the distributor.

Chipperman

I figured I would get some input from here first about other peoples' experiences. I don't want to call IMR sounding like a jerk if this is typical.

Reloadron

Been using IMR4064, like many here, for decades and never had a problem in sub freezing temperatures using standard or magnum large and small rifle primers. Never had a problem. Pull a bullet and inspect the powder, it should be obvious if the primer did in fact dentonate. Normally just a primer bang will get a bullet out of the case mouth. You made no mention of the load data?

Call or email IMR. The contact phone number is on the label. They will want the lot number which is also on the container. They may also want to know where you bought the powder.

Ron

gwpercle

Save the powder and call them ... I'm sure they will want to look into it and test the powder ... may be a problem with content or coating .
20 and 30 degrees is cold but not so cold it would cause problems ...