Impatient about becoming a good shooter....

Lavid2002

I am so impatient to become a good marksman. Ive been shooting rifle for three years now. Reading any forum I can, and still have so many questions and so little answers. Im the only shooter/hunter in my family. I dont really have the dad/uncle/cousin who has been shooting all his life to teatch me everything like some other people. I dont even have a workbench in my house! Hahaha. I dont even know how to bed an action, ive practiced my stances, done my part at the range and tried to get some trigger time on me, and my groups have stopped improving, now what? I just dont know whats next....What should I do? My local range has advanced NRA marksmanship classes...should I take them? I will take any advice offered. Thanks guys!
Dave

jpwilly

Classes are good. Trigger time is best! I learned and learned on bb guns then 22lr's when I was young then I got my centerfire SKS at 14 years old. I had probably shot 50K rounds through various 22 rifles before I ever touched a centerfire. I had the advantage of two brothers to hang out with and a Father who taught us well and let us go at it once he knew we were safe. Living in the country surrounded by farmland...the world was my shooting gallery!

So back to your delema...practice instruction and competition will make you better. Books and the internet can seve as a guide but you have to put it into practice or its worthless. Competing is an interesting element nothing more motivating than wanting to make every shot count!

Frank Ettin

Administrator
What sort of rifleman do you want to be? If your interest is in becoming a solid, practical rifleman, I heartily recommend the General Rifle class (course number 270) at Gunsite (http://www.gunsite.com/ ). It is an outstanding school and an excellent class in practical rifle craft.