Im New to Black Powder Revolvers Need Advice

TX Hunter

Hello,
Today I bought an Italian Black Powder Revolver from my Mothers Antique Shop.
Its not antique, just a replica, I believe its paterned after the 1851 Navy Revolver, its 44 Caliber, and has a Battle Ship engraved on the cylender.
My Question, is what all will I need to buy to fire it.
What size Caps, what kind of black powder, how how big of a charge should I use, everything I need to know about this gun, to safely use it.
Please help me get started.
It looks like it has a case hardened frame, but Im not sure, It may just be painted on.
Please Help.

mykeal

1) Powder: Real black powder (Goex, Swiss, KIK) in 3fg granulation OR any of a number of substitute black powders such as Pyrodex P, Triple Se7en FFFG, American Pioneer, Shockey's Black Gold, etc.

2) Powder measure: adjustable from 5 grains to at least 50 grains

3) Powder flask or horn: not mandatory, but they are more convenient at the range

4) Round balls: probably 0.454 or 0.457, although 0.451 may also work. Try 0.454 to start. They need to be large enough that when they are pressed into the chamber that a thin, complete ring of lead is shaved off.

5) Filler, wads or grease: Corn meal or Cream of Wheat may be necessary to fill a gap between the powder and the ball if you're using a light load and the rammer will not push the ball down to seat on the powder; lubed or dry felt wads (wool felt, NO SYNTHETICS!) are often used between the ball and the powder to raise the ball in the chamber, provide anti-fouling lube and/or prevent chain fires; grease is sometimes used on top of the ball in lieu of the wad to perform the last two functions.

6) Percussion caps: the right size is a complete crap shoot; they could be anything. All you can do is buy some and try them out.

7) Cleaning patches

8) Cleaning rod with .44 cal jag, patch holder and brush attachments

9) Ear protection

10) Eye protection