I'm envisioning/dreamin up a Rem R-15 SPR/DMR

tAKticool

Hi all,

I have a Bushmaster AR (That I'm very happy with) that I've turned into quite the CQB rifle. With a furnishing of Magpul accessories and furniture it looks awesome and functions great.. Just what I want and need as a personal carbine. Now I've set my sights on a SPR type AR as a DMR-functioning rifle. Basically an AR that will compliment my other, and have a little synergistic role. Both will shoot 5.56 (granted if I was taking for making real *real* precision shots of course I would want better ammo in the SPR) but anyway, both use the same ammo, mags, and function about the same . I would also be configuring the R-15 to function as a SPR/DMR but also be 'able' to fight with it if necessary... i.e. I liked the SIG DMR when I first 'met' it but I strongly doubt you could fight a battle with it, it's too heavy/unwieldly to fight with, it's too much of a 'sniper rifle' which is not really what I'm looking for.

http://remington.com/products/firearms/centerfire/model-r-15/model-r-15-vtr-predator-carbine.aspx

SO that's the link to what I'm thinking of , the R-15 'Predator Carbine' which features an 18" barrel and also a Free Float tube. Now the tube is what i'm wondering about. Does it have/allow for a bottom of the tube rail? Bec. I could deal with those "slots" around the tube if/when I needed to mount accessories by mounting those little screw-in mini-rails that you also use on the Magpul MOE handguard.

But on the bottom, I want to do some stuff. As an SPR I want it to have some fighting capabilities. I would mount a Magpul AFG on the bottom rear for gripping of course but also for holding if I needed to use it like that... and then a Bipod up front. so is there a way to put a rail on the bottom?

Also I'd want to make the rear A2 stock into a Magpul PRS, just seems so much better. And it looks like it takes BUIS pretty easy with a gas block mount, and then it would just need a nice great scope.